0

Your Cart is Empty

May 21, 2018 0 Comments

We get asked a lot about Gluten and which of our products contain wheat, so for some time now we've been meaning to put out this clear guide for you all. 

First off we don't add any gluten to any of our products and we don't use wheat (the most common source of gluten) in any of our products either. But because of a legal requirement regarding oats we can't call our bars 'gluten free'. 

 

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a term for the proteins found not only in wheat but also in rye, barley, wheat varieties like farro and spelt. Malt and brewer’s yeast also contain gluten.

So if you are eating the following, then you are eating gluten. 

  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Beer
  • Cornflakes
  • Cookies
  • Noodles 

 

Is Gluten bad?

Gluten hasn't got a lot of good publicity lately with it being blamed for everything from the obesity epidemic to reduced brain function. The reality however is that most people can enjoy gluten-containing foods without issue, unintentionally consuming even small amounts of gluten can pose health risks for individuals with celiac disease.

Do your products contain Gluten? 

While oats, one of the main ingredients in flapjacks don't inherently contain gluten, legally they mean we can't label our bars gluten-free as there might be concerns about cross-contamination with gluten-containing grains.